Who Is Lagos State Senator?

What is the function of a senator?

The framers of the Constitution created the United States Senate to protect the rights of individual states and safeguard minority opinion in a system of government designed to give greater power to the national government..

Who is current Senate President of Nigeria?

The Senate President is second in line for succession to the Nigerian presidency, after the Vice President of Nigeria. The current President of the Senate is Ahmed Lawan.

What language do they speak in Lagos Nigeria?

YorubaThe official language is English. A variation of English (Pidgin English) is also spoken. The three main Nigerian languages are Yoruba, Ibo (also spelt Igbo) and Hausa; another 400 languages are also spoken in the country.

Why is there only 2 senators per state?

According to Article I, Section 3 of the Constitution, “The Senate of the United States shall be composed of two Senators from each state, chosen by the legislature thereof for six Years.” The framers believed that in electing senators, state legislatures would cement their ties with the national government.

How many members are for Senate in USA?

The Constitution prescribes that the Senate be composed of two senators from each State (therefore, the Senate currently has 100 Members) and that a senator must be at least thirty years of age, have been a citizen of the United States for nine years, and, when elected, be a resident of the State from which he or she …

How old is Bola Tinubu now?

68 years (March 29, 1952)Bola Tinubu/Age

Was Tinubu a senator?

Early political career He was elected to the Senate, representing the Lagos West constituency in the short-lived Nigerian Third Republic. … In the run-up to the 1999 elections, Bola Tinubu was a protégé of Alliance for Democracy (AD) leaders Abraham Adesanya and Ayo Adebanjo.

What is Lagos famous for?

Lagos is a major financial centre for all of Africa and is the economic hub of Lagos State. The megacity has the fourth-highest GDP in Africa and houses one of the largest and busiest seaports on the continent. It is one of the fastest growing cities in the world.

Who owns Lagos State?

The legitimate ownership of Lagos Land is vested in the Idejo who are the offspring of Ogunfunminire and not the Bini. Anyone who cares, can read the landmark judgement delivered at the Privy Council in London in 1921. One day, the Bini invaded Oto and took Olofin to Benin.

What is Bola Tinubu’s name?

Bola Ahmed TinubuBola Tinubu/Full name

Where is Bola Tinubu from?

Lagos, NigeriaBola Tinubu/Place of birth

What is the oldest local government in Lagos State?

Lagos City HallThe Lagos City Hall, established in 1900, is the secretariat of the oldest local government in Nigeria. It is located within the Brazilian quarters, right in the center of the Lagos business district.

Which local government is the biggest in Lagos?

AlimoshoList of Lagos State local government areas by populationRankLGAPopulation1Alimosho11,456,7832Ajeromi-Ifelodun2,000,3463Kosofe665,4214Mushin633,54316 more rows

How safe is Lagos?

OVERALL RISK : HIGH. Lagos was a very dangerous destination for potential tourists, but now it’s much safer with the state spending a lot of money on police, security, etc.

Who elects senators?

The Senate of the United States shall be composed of two Senators from each State, elected by the people thereof, for six years; and each Senator shall have one vote. The electors in each State shall have the qualifications requisite for electors of the most numerous branch of the State legislatures.

What is the poorest state in Nigeria?

In 2019, the Nigerian states of Sokoto and Taraba had the largest percentage of people living below the poverty line. The lowest poverty rates were recorded in the South and South-Western states. In Lagos, this figure equaled to 4.5 percent, the lowest rate in Nigeria.

How many senators do we have in Lagos State?

Senate of NigeriaSenateSeats109Political groupsAll Progressives Congress (65) People’s Democratic Party (43) Young Progressive Party (1)Length of term4 yearsElections16 more rows

How old is Lagos State?

Lagos State was created on May 27, 1967 by virtue of State (Creation and Transitional Provisions) Decree No. 14 of 1967, which restructured Nigeria’s Federation into 12 states.